The Ansel Adams Award

The Wilderness Society’s Ansel Adams Conservation Award is presented to a current or former federal official who has shown exceptional commitment to the cause of conservation and the fostering of an American land ethic.


Ansel Adams                                1980

Jimmy Carter                                1981

John F. Seiberling                         1982

Phillip Burton                                1983

Morris K. Udall                              1984

Cecil D. Andrus                             1985

Stewart L. Udall                             1986

Sidney Yates                                  1987

John H. Chafee                              1988

Allan Cranston                                1989

William V. Roth, Jr.                          1989

Gaylord Nelson                               1990

George J. Mitchell                           1991

George Miller                                  1992

Bruce F. Vento                                 1994

Albert Gore, Jr.                                1997

Dale Bumpers                                 1998

Kathleen A. McGinty                       1999

David Obey and John Porter           2000

John Lewis                                      2001

John Kerry and Joseph Lieberman 2002

Nick J. Rahall II                               2004

Harry Reid                                       2004

Ernest F.Hollings                             2005

Maria Cantwell                                2006     

Sherwood L. Boehlert                     2007

James M. Jeffords                          2007

Norman D. Dicks                            2008

Michael P. Dombeck                       2010

Bruce Babbitt                                  2011

Ken Salazar                                    2013

Max Baucus                                    2014

John Podesta                                  2015

Dianne Feinstein                             2016

Edmund G. “Jerry” Brown, Jr.         2019

Raúl M. Grijalva                              2022

The Robert Marshall Award

The Robert Marshall Award is The Wilderness Society's highest award presented to a private citizen who has never held federal office but has devoted long-term service to and has had a notable influence upon conservation and the fostering of an American land ethic.


Sigurd F. Olson                                  1981

George Marshall                                1982

Larry Rockefeller                                1983

Russell W. Peterson                           1984

Theodore R. Swem                            1985

Margaret Murie                                   1986

T. H. Watkins                                      1988

Wallace Stegner                                 1989

Frances Beinecke                               1990

Arnold Bolle                                         1993

David Brower                                       1994

Charles Crane Bradley and Nina Leopold Bradley                   1995

Edmund A. Stanley, Jr.                        1996

Thomas A. Barron                               1997

Celia M. Hunter                                   1998

Clarence Petty                                    1999

Stewart Brandborg                              2000

Edward A. Ames                                 2001

Peggy and Ed Wayburn                      2001

Brant Caulkin                                      2004

Terry Tempest Williams                       2006

Clif Merritt                                            2008

Bethine Church                                    2009

Billy Frank                                            2010

Hansjörg Wyss                                     2011

David Getches (posthumously)            2012

Dennis and Ann Pence And Aspenwood Foundation            2013

William Cronon                                     2014

Sarah James                                        2015

Elizabeth Cushman Titus Putnam        2016

Edward Osborne Wilson                      2016

Roxanne Quimby                                 2017

Robert B. Semple, Jr.                           2018

Rose Letwin                                         2020

Jaime A. Pinkham                                2021